ASONAM 2009

From Openresearch
Jump to: navigation, search
ASONAM 2009
Advances in Social Networks Analysis and Mining
Dates Jul 20, 2009 (iCal) - Jul 22, 2009
Homepage: www.asonam.org
Location
Location: Athens, Greece
Loading map...

Important dates
Abstracts: Nov 30, 2008
Submissions: Jan 30, 2009
Notification: Mar 15, 2009
Camera ready due: Apr 7, 2009
Table of Contents


Event


The study of social networks originated in social and business communities. In recent years, social network research has advanced significantly; the development of sophisticated techniques for Social Network Analysis and Mining (SNAM) has been highly influenced by the online social Web sites, email logs, phone logs and instant messaging systems, which are widely analyzed using graph theory and machine learning techniques. People perceive the Web increasingly as a social medium that fosters interaction among people, sharing of experiences and knowledge, group activities, community formation and evolution. This has led to a rising prominence of SNAM in academia, politics, homeland security and business. This follows the pattern of known entities of our society that have evolved into networks in which actors are increasingly dependent on their structural embedding.

The international conference on Advances in Social Network Analysis and Mining (ASONAM 2009) will primarily provide an interdisciplinary venue that will bring together practitioners and researchers from a variety of SNAM fields to promote collaborations and exchange of ideas and practices.

ASONAM 2009 is intended to address important aspects with a specific focus on the emerging trends and industry needs associated with social networking analysis and mining. The conference solicits experimental and theoretical works on social network analysis and mining along with their application to real life situations.

General areas of interest to ASONAM 2009 include information science and mathematics,
communication studies, business and organizational studies, sociology, psychology, anthropology, applied linguistics, biology and medicine.

Honorary General Chairs

Hsinchun Chen
University of Arizona
hchen@eller.arizona.edu

Panos Pardalos
University of Florida
pardalos@ise.ufl.edu

General Chair

Nicholas Harkiolakis
Hellenic American University
nharkiolakis@hau.gr

Program Chairs

Reda Alhajj
University of Calgary
alhajj@ucalgary.ca

Nasrullah Memon
Aalborg University
nasrullah@cs.aaue.dk

Publicity Chair

Jon Rokne
University of Calgary
rokne@ucalgary.ca

Publications Chair

Claus Atzenbeck
Aalborg University
atzenbeck@cs.aaue.dk

Local Arrangements Chair

Lambros Ekonomou
Hellenic American University
lekonomou@hau.gr

Webmaster

George Tsarouhas
Hellenic Technologies & Associates
tsarouhas@hta.gr

Publisher

Conference Publishing Services
IEEE Computer Society
	

This CfP was obtained from WikiCFP

Facts about "ASONAM 2009"
Abstract deadlineNovember 30, 2008 +
AcronymASONAM 2009 +
Camera ready dueApril 7, 2009 +
End dateJuly 22, 2009 +
Has coordinates37° 59' 2", 23° 43' 42"Latitude: 37.983941666667
Longitude: 23.728305555556
+
Has location cityAthens +
Has location countryCategory:Greece +
Homepagehttp://www.asonam.org +
IsAEvent +
NotificationMarch 15, 2009 +
Start dateJuly 20, 2009 +
Submission deadlineJanuary 30, 2009 +
TitleAdvances in Social Networks Analysis and Mining +